Second Campaign Challenge

Okay, this one was a doozy.  I almost didn’t do it.  But, I let it stew for a few days and once I started, it flowed. Here are the rules:

The Challenge is:

Write a blog post in 200 words or less, excluding the title. It can be in any format, whether flash fiction, non-fiction, humorous blog musings, poem, etc. The blog post should:

  • include the word “imago” in the title
  • include the following 4 random words: “miasma,” “lacuna,” “oscitate,” “synchronicity,”

If you want to give yourself an added challenge (optional and included in the word count), make reference to a mirror in your post.

For those who want an even greater challenge (optional), make your post 200 words EXACTLY!

Here’s the link to the other entries.

Here is my contribution. I’m #87. 

Family Imago

A choking miasma hung in the room and around her heart, squeezing every ounce of joy from her being. Years had passed since they’d last been together. The lacuna that spanned their time between visits helped keep the imago of her aunt intact. Walking into the room, she felt herself oscitate. The wraith like form tucked into the sterile white sheets no longer resembled the woman she saw every time she looked in the mirror.

The resemblance had always irked her mother. She was regularly mistaken for her aunt’s daughter and it had only created animosity between the sisters. The synchronicity between aunt and niece only added fuel to the fire. Driving a wedge.

She sank into the chair next to the rented bed. Her aunt shakily pulled her hand from under the cover and reached toward the chair. She took the skeletal appendage and gently cradled it. The luster was gone from the eyes that had always looked at her with love.

“I tried to get mom to come down here too.”

“She’s already been.”

“She came alone?”

“Yes. And gave me permission.”

Her aunt was apparently worse than she thought.

“You look like me because you’re my daughter.”

 

Hope you enjoyed it!

Also, it’s been a while since I’ve posted any pics of Murphy.  Check out his page for some of his crazy antics.  He’s been very active lately.

Have a great weekend everyone and don’t forget to check out some of the other entries!

Melanie

20 thoughts on “Second Campaign Challenge

  1. Thanks everyone for the kind comments! Sorry I haven’t responded sooner. Insanity at work prevails at the moment. I have to admit, I almost didn’t do this one because the words were not very familiar to me. But then again, this was a “challenge”, so I let it stew for a day or two and dove in. All of your comments are encouraging! Thanks again!!

    Melanie

  2. It is always good to read something where the realization of truth is present. Nothing high-end, action-packed, but something of this nature that could actually summon up reflections of my personal past(which bares no resembled makeup of the above, disclaimer).
    nice post.

  3. I’m really happy that she found out the truth before her mother died. Although it might feel a little cheated, at least it would make everything else understandable.
    Well done!

  4. Oh! I love the ending. Sort of reminded me of the theme in ‘Shanghai Girls’ with the sister raising the daughter not being the mother and the animosity that created. Nicely done! 🙂 ~ Nadja

  5. Sonia – Right? I didn’t even know it was headed that way til the end.
    Elizabeth – Thanks!
    Bridget – I’ll take that as a compliment. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by ladies! Headed your direction.

Pen your thoughts...

