The beginning of fall

First off, I want to thank everyone who stopped by the blog and read and commented on my first Platform-Building Campaign challenge.  It was one of those inspired moments that came out of the blue. And after reading all of the kind comments, I might find a way to work this into a longer story.  After all, Halloween isn’t that far away. Mwahaha!!

On to the blog post!

Ah, the beginning of fall. We were lucky to get our first cool front which dropped our temps into the mid 90’s for the highs. Not a cool front you say? Walking out to 60 something degrees in the morning was a welcome respite from this record heat we’ve been having. It barely lasted a week, but it was enough to flip that internal switch that screams FALL.

Ah, fall on a lake. Even better.

I imagine some of you ask, what does fall have to do with your writing? Actually a whole heck of a lot.  Fall is my absolute favorite season of the year. Here is what fall entails for me:  Renaissance, start of the NFL season, fall festivals, pumpkin carving, Halloween,

Thanksgiving, Black Friday shopping, baking until my house smells like a sweet shop and NaNoWriMo.

So, my already full schedule has gotten fuller. Fuller? Sure, if I snitch bites of what I’m baking. Busier? Absolutely! But in a good way. And add to this the fact that I’m working on the (hopefully) last full edit of my novel before I start querying agents. Can you say stressed? lol. Yep, that’s me at the moment. Not to mention the fact that I could easily work 5 to 10 hours overtime at work every week and you understand why there are days I completely drop off the electronic radar.

But, here I am plugging away. It was time for a blog post. No matter how tired/stressed/excited/busy I may be, I don’t want to let down my loyal readers. I made a promise to myself to not let more than a week go by without posting. I am still keeping my “writing muscles” exercised by connecting with you. I get to be witty (with any luck), informative (really?) and somewhat entertaining.

On the story front, I’ve been wondering about doing this and decided to go ahead and add….drum roll…a small teaser snippet from the first chapter of my WIP.

Fireworks thundered overhead, each pop counting the minutes until she could leave. It was all she could do not to groan aloud when she saw two shadows enter the tent opening.

            Mentally calling the two men names, she smiled and leaned on the counter.

            “Good evening me lords. What might ye be desirin’?”

            “Ah, a saucy wench. Are you available to order?”

            Callie kept the smile on her face, clasping her hands together on the bar. He wore a dress shirt with the sleeves rolled up, suit slacks and what looked like very expensive black loafers which sported a fine layer of dust. She could also tell he was a maybe only a tankard shy of needing a wagon to carry him from the grounds.

            “Nay, kind sir. Only items posted on the bans be available.”

            “Well, hell. I guess I’ll take a Guinness then.”

            Callie backed up a step to reach for a plastic cup under the counter. “And you, kind sir? Which fine ale would ye be havin’?”

            The other man moved closer to the bar and Callie’s breath caught. He wore khakis and a polo shirt achieving the weekend casual look of the typical office worker. Obviously he had not attempted to keep up with his friend when it came to alcohol consumption. His eyes were clear and bright; and the most gorgeous shade of emerald green.

“I’ll also have a Guinness, please.

Hopefully I’ll be able to offer much more of that soon!  Have a great week and happy reading/writing!

Melanie

6 thoughts on “The beginning of fall

    1. So glad you like it Natasha! Thanks for the encouragement! Good to hear you’d read more. These edits have me doubting a little.

      @Allie – if you get a hold of some real fall weather, you can send it my way!! 🙂

  1. I also love Autumn, for the colours, the vibrancy. It always feels as though we’re living inside a pastel painting. I also love the wind and the sounds of the rain falling, oh yes, and it’s perfect writing/editing weather.

  2. Hi Melanie ~

    What a nice little teaser to set your hook! I know how hard it is to keep up with the tech-y stuff when life gets so busy. But it’s great that you are posting once a week even when the going gets tough.

    Fall is also my favorite season, so I’m appreciating that wonderful lake-side pic you posted. As for editing…well, that I love less. Quite a bit less, truth be told. Having recently completed that particular process, I don’t envy you! But it sure feels great when you finish, sigh, and smile at your shiny new novel, sitting all pretty and ready for publishing. Have a great week! ~ Nadja

Pen your thoughts...

