First Campaign Challenge

Life caught up with me and I didn’t get this up as early as I wanted to.  I did read the prompt on Monday and the idea has been stewing.  It came to me this morning as I washed my hair.  Always get great thinking done in the shower!

Here are the rules for the first challenge.

Write a short story/flash fiction story in 200 words or less, excluding the title. It can be in any format, including a poem. Begin the story with the words, “The door swung open” These four words will be included in the word count.

If you want to give yourself an added challenge (optional), use the same beginning words and end with the words: “the door swung shut.” (also included in the word count)

For those who want an even greater challenge, make your story 200 words EXACTLY!

I didn’t think I could get the 200 words exactly, but I did and rather easily.  So, in honor of fall and Halloween, here’s my response to the first challenge.

The door swung open on creaky hinges like a B grade horror flick. Boards creaked and dust motes filled the air creating a filmy haze in the air. Footsteps echoed down the hallway where sheet covered furniture marked time with sand piled against its legs. No hourglass was needed; it had been decades since sunlight had filtered through the stained windows.

A stiff breeze flowed through the open door, wafting away the scent of decaying wood and unkempt rooms. The smell of nature that once flourished but now languishes on the forest floor. The scent of life and of death.

An occasional sneeze breaks the silence. There is no clean air to be found within these walls. The house once again is empty as the brave soul leaves in search of a cleansing breath. Wind wheezing through loose boards mimics a rusty laugh. Foolish soul.

The house may look unoccupied, but it is anything but. Thousands of lives have begun and ended within these rooms. Just because no human has set foot inside does not mean the house has not seen life. It has lived along with those occupants. A breeze flows down the hall and the door swung shut.

Hope you enjoy. Head over to Rach Writes and check out the other entries.  Looks like I’m late to the party, but at least I beat the deadline!  Enjoy and have a great day readers!!

Melanie

24 thoughts on “First Campaign Challenge

  1. So, you’ve seen the real estate market in my town! Just kidding. You’re really getting better at this whole, “putting the reader in the story, rather then telling the reader a story” thing. The mind is a wonderful thing to tease!

  2. Great use of sense of sound, smell, sight. I really liked the line “Wind wheezing through loose boards mimics a rusty laugh.” Way to bring the setting to life. ☺

    I’m one of the judges for the first challenge and wanted to let you know you’ve been shortlisted as one of the Top 5 to move onto Stage Two. After this comes Stage Three (semi-final), then Stage Four (final). Good luck!

  3. @David – Thanks! Headed over to check yours out.

    @Donna – hehe – need to apply that to the WIP, right? lol

    @mish – Glad you liked it! Will go check your entry out.

    @Raelyn – I know! And thanks. 🙂 Read yours already!

  4. I was sucked in by the opening line ….
    Your writing is a multi-sensory delight – sound , smell , sight , feel …
    I really like this !
    My entry is no.#59

Pen your thoughts...

