Writing Campaign

Happy weekend! Though most of mine will be spent inside if at all possible.

Got a few things to let my few but loyal readers know about. I am joining a blog Campaign. It is an effort to link other bloggers and writers together to build a support group. Writing can be a very solitary profession, especially if you live in a smaller town like I do. I have to admit, I get jealous sometimes when writers report from their group meetings.  I wish I had someone I could meet with, even just once a month, to get face to face feedback on my writers.  My online critiquers have been fantastic and the best people I could ask for.

If you’re interested in joining or just checking the blog to see what it’s all about, go to http://rachaelharrie.blogspot.com/2011/08/and-so-campaign-begins-plus-campaigner.html and check it out.

Campaign lasts from Aug. 22 through Oct. 31. If you’re interested in joining, you must sign up before August 31st. Here are the scheduled challenges.   This is the first time I’ve done this, so it should be very interesting and I’ll keep you posted here on the blog.

  1. First Campaigner Challenge – Monday, September 5
  2. Second Campaigner Challenge – Thursday, September 22
  3. Third Campaigner Challenge – Monday, October 17

 

Second thing. I’ve been thinking about the responses I get to blog posts. I can see people are reading, but so few are commenting. I wonder, is this the norm? To have maybe an eighth of my readers comment? Or does it have something to do with the structure of the comment section?  So, for the next few weeks, I’m leaving it open. Comments will appear without approval first. Depending on what happens will affect how I proceed from here.

 

Here’s a third thing. I want to say thanks to all those who are reading the blog posts.  I will admit, trying to keep up with this, my manuscript, keeping up with other writers and working full time is a challenge.  I’m essentially working a second job without getting paid for it!  I can hear some of you say, well, you decided to do it.  Yes I did, and I’m glad I did. In the last year, I have met some of the most amazing people.  People I never would have met if I hadn’t decided to do this writing thing and take it seriously.

I hope I can help other writers at least half as much as the people I’ve met have helped me.  I’m learning that writers are some of the most sharing, talented people out there. And I appreciate them.

So…go forth and comment. I would love to see my readership increase and would love to hear what you think about the blog. Also, which posts have interested you the most? Writing, Murphy, Renaissance or the random ones that really have nothing to do with anything?

Hope everyone affected by Hurricane Irene weathers the storm safely.  For the rest of you in the US, stay cool.

Final thought. Drove by a church (one of many) on my way to work the other day. Sign out front said “Those of you are praying for bright, sunny days; please stop.” Tells you just how bad we need the rain here in Texas.

 

Happy writing!

Melanie

19 thoughts on “Writing Campaign

  1. Hi! I’m stopping by via the Writers Campaign – Romance/Contemporary Romance/Sweet Romance Group (2). My first novel, Claiming The Prize is set to be published within the next week or two (I’m going indie!). I was thrilled to see this group as it fits many aspects of my story. This is my first time with the Campaign, but I’m guessing this will be a great way to network and find friends and support as you write! I also participate in A Round of Words in 80 Days, and I’ve met some great people through that challenge. I’m hoping this will be as terrific! Glad to ‘meet’ you. I’m sure to see you around during the Campaign. ~ Nadja

    1. Nice to “see” you Nadja. This is my first campaign also, so I can’t wait to see what Rachael has in store for us. I’ll be hopping around checking the new blogs this weekend for sure, if not sooner.

  2. Nice to meet you Melanie
    Most followers just like to follow, unless your post is of particular interest or your followers have something add, then they’ll comment. Don’t worry about it – followers are followers and they know you and your writing exists! It’s a great start 🙂
    Kerrin

    1. Thanks Kerrin. That’s pretty much what my husband said. Before starting this blog earlier in the year, I’d never read that many blogs. Hearing from another blogger that I’m experiencing the norm is stress relieving. Look forward to seeing what the challenge holds for us all.

  3. Hello,

    I’m making my rounds through my Campaigner groups. You’re actually in the second Romance group but your picture looks so lonely there by itself. And you had me at TARTAN. Nice to meet you 🙂

    1. I know 🙂 Hope someone else joins me. I need to start making the rounds too. I’m looking forward to this challenge. Never done it before so we’ll see what happens. Thanks for checking in Raelyn.

Pen your thoughts...

