The pitfalls of the English language

Howdy dear readers.

I know I just posted, but I just had an experience that is just too good not to share. As most of my friends/followers/acquaintances…okay just about everyone, knows I write romance.  I’ve decided to go with the rewrite idea on the current WIP and started working on it. I’ve taken out a few really juicy scenes and ramped up the sexual tension instead of just having sexual contact.  In other words, instead of touching those areas, it’s all about the anticipation of touching, or in the case of my heroine, being touched.

Anyway! I was trying to find a less clinical word for groin. I’ll let your imaginations wander for a few moments…… Now that you’re back. I’m trying to find a better word. So I highlight groin in the document, right-click and scroll down to synonyms. Imagine my confusion when the suggestions are breakwater, barrier, jetty.  Huh?? What the heck?

I jump to the internet and dictionary.com. The first two definitions have to do with anatomy, the third – architecture (?) and then this one:  “Also, groyne. a small jetty extending from a shore to prevent beach erosion.” Who knew? Obviously, the dictionary, but I sure had no idea this definition even existed, let alone the spelling.

Unfortunately, I am still left without an alternative word or phrasing. Any suggestions? Guess I’ll have to hit up the book shelf at home and see what others have used before me. Maybe I can get a better idea.  Having the “heat pool in her jetty” just doesn’t have the same ring. Although if my heroine lived on a tropical island surrounded by small pools of water, this just might work.  Hmm. I’ll have to keep this alternate definition in the back of my mind.

I consider it a good day when I can learn something new. If nothing else, I’ve added to my cache of worthless trivia for use at a later date.  I would love to see what you all can come up with.

 

As always, thanks for reading. Subscribe if you find this the least bit interesting and haven’t done so already. And of course, happy writing!

Melanie

One thought on “The pitfalls of the English language

Pen your thoughts...

