My Personal Budget Crisis.

Budgets. The biggest topic in the news at the moment. I just hope I’m more successful at resolving my own personal budget crisis than the government has been to this point. Though I have been ignoring my budget crisis to a certain degree. And it has affected my creativity. Instead of stretching what bit of time I have even further, I have made “cuts” to my current budget. What cuts are those you ask?

Well, with a sad heart, I must cut my much-anticipated (by me at least) participation in Camp NaNoWriMo next month. I have been looking forward to it for a few months now. But I’ve realized if I did do it, I would be sacrificing the novel I am so close to finishing. And as it looks like I might have the opportunity to pitch said novel in October, I need to do what is best for my work in the long run and not what I want to do because it’s fun.

Why the cut now? One word: time. I simply don’t have the time to devote myself fully to everything I want to do. Whether it be finishing a novel, making sure the house is spotless (why can it never stay that way?) or focusing on work. So I’m setting up a budget. And unfortunately that meant some cuts. And while I’m said that I’ll have to postpone such a creatively liberating event, I feel better in general having made the decision. I can now concentrate on completing and refining my novel so it is as ready as I can make it should an agent want to see it. Plus, it would be better to tell them I have a finished novel than be rushing to finish it and have it be lackluster.

For those who want to check out the Camp, here’s the link.  Camp starts August 1st here. http://campnanowrimo.org/sign_in For the rest of you, I hope you’re able to budget your time in order to get the best work possible.

Happy writing and budgeting.

Melanie

2 thoughts on “My Personal Budget Crisis.

  1. I know. I was just looking forward to “participating” on the website. I really need to focus on this story though and get it finished. Plus, I still have a costume to make! What I need to concentrate on is finishing one story before I start work on another. I know, November will be here before I know it.

  2. Ah, budgets. I thought for sure you were talking of monetary budgets, so I loved your transition in to budgeting time. You know, you do your own NaNo. That’s when I wrote Lyn’s story. I heard about NaNo too late to enter, so I did my own the following January–and wrote 80,000 words. And November’s not all that far away …

Pen your thoughts...

