Caffeine is the Frenemy

Caffeine.  The substance more addictive and readily available than probably any drug on the planet (Don’t know that for sure, never been addicted to anything else; except maybe chocolate).

Anyway. I have a love/hate relationship with caffeine. When I’m working on deadlines, I find myself craving it in many forms: coffee, chocolate, soda, hot chocolate. Hmm, I’m sensing an underlying theme here. When I get on my healthy kicks where I exercise regularly and watch what I eat, I tend to cut out caffeine almost completely.

So, why hate the substance that helps me get through that last-minute edit or a particularly nasty day at work when everything seems to go wrong? Because, while it helps me through the tough times, it doesn’t give me lasting energy. And sometimes it gives me headaches when I drink too much. Water makes me feel better and gets rid of a headache(minus caffeine additives like coffee, tea or caramelized syrups). I know someone is asking, namely my husband, why drink caffeine then?

Well, it goes back to taste. Water is great for quenching a deep thirst that feels like it can never be slaked. But sometimes I need something with a little more kick, a little flavor. Most water is flavorless unless there’s a serious problem with heavy minerals in your area. Like where I live they switched to using the river water, filtered of course.  But it still tastes like dirt to me. When water won’t cut it, I go back to my beloved caffeinated drinks and the cycle starts over again.

Like the smoker who only smokes when stressed or “partying”, I turn to caffeine when I feel there just aren’t enough hours in the day. When will the cycle end? Who knows. But I know there are others out there like me who need an occasional caffeine boost to make it through the morning.  Below is a psalm for those who need the extra jolt to their bloodstream. A friend who has the same “addiction” I do sent this to me a few years ago, though she’d probably be just as happy waking up with M&M’s as a cup of tea. (Love ya K)

 

Caffeine is my shepherd, I shall not doze.

It maketh me to wake in green pastures.

It leadeth me beyond the sleeping masses; it restoreth my buzz.

It leadeth me in the paths of consciousness for its name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of addiction,

I will fear no Equal.

For thou art with me: thy cream and thy sugar they comfort me.

Thou prepareth a carafe before me in the presence of the Starbucks.

Thou annointeth my day with pep; my mug runneth over.

Surely richness and taste shall follow me all the days of my life.

And I will dwell in the House of Mochas forever.

                Author Unknown.

 

What are your “addictions”? What helps you get over the hump or keeps you going when inspiration just won’t stop? Ah, Diet Pepsi, how I love/loathe thee…

Mel

3 thoughts on “Caffeine is the Frenemy

  1. Fortunately, I don’t have to suffer with nasty city water. I love our well water (Now with the refreshing glow of uranium, thanks to local mining!) But, I did find a wonderful lemonade recipe that was supposed to be a morning pick up in a juice diet I did a year ago. 2 lemons, 1 tbls. maple syrup (dark grade B is very good!), and 8 oz. water. This became my favorite part of the day. But if I have to drink city water, like if I forget my water bottle at home, I make tea at the office. I use one bag of caffeinated (oolong or green teas) and one bag of caffeine free flavorful tea (peppermint or orange). The peppermint will linger with you and leave your mouth feeling yummy all day. That’s just my coffee/soda alternatives.

  2. You made me smile. I don’t drink a lot of caffeine so I can save it for those times when I need to be awake. If my favorite drink (Diet Coke with Lime) came in decaff that would work fine for me.

    I love water with lime. That can be satisfying for me. Is there nothing else that will satisfy your craving?

    Please note that I do not suggest giving up chocolate. Why live?

Pen your thoughts...

