I am an American – Happy 4th!

Here’s a poem I wrote a few years ago in a moment of feeling extremely patriotic. In honor of the 235th anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Independence, here it is.

I am an American. Citizen by birth, if not by heritage.

My parents’ parents, and their parents before them, were Americans.

Before that they were Austrian, German and Czechoslovakian.

But I am an American.

America is where I was born, American is how I was raised.

It has made me who I am.

But to be an American, you have to be more than simply born here.

Being an American is a state of mind; a conscious statement, and unconscious attitude.

It is more than knowing how many stripes are on the flag, what the “Pledge of Allegiance” is or if you know the words to the “Star Spangled Banner.”

It is being able to glimpse the idea and feelings our forefathers had when they risked their happiness, freedom and their lives for us to be able to enjoy the life we lead now.

It is standing by this country in times of prosper and in times of despair.

Our country’s future may not have a great outlook for some

But this is a Republic based “of the People, by the People, for the People”.

In this land known as America, we are free to choose,

We are free to fee and we are free to live.

And no matter how many bends and curves there are in our road to the future, I will always be proud to be an American.

Happy Independence Day to Americans everywhere and a belated Happy Canada Day to our neighbors to the north.

Curious about other holidays like I was? Here’s a link for you.  Quite a few countries celebrating their independence in July.

http://www.travelnotes.org/Events/07-jul.htm

3 thoughts on “I am an American – Happy 4th!

Pen your thoughts...

