Scheduling

Scheduling. Something I’m usually pretty good at. I even try to leave some wiggle room to allow for changes in the schedule.

I find myself currently stressing over my self-imposed schedule. I want to finish my current WIP. I want to participate in Camp NaNoWriMo and I want to start querying agents. And I have to figure out how to do this while working 8-5, Monday thru Friday and spending time with my hubby and, well you know the drill.

I’m looking for some suggestions for scheduling. Do you set aside a specific day to write and another for housework? Do you keep a calendar with appointments? What keeps you in task and focused?

2 thoughts on “Scheduling

  1. I feel your pain. Prioritize. You can do anything you want in life but you can’t do everything–at least not all at once. If you’re short on time, is there something that demands your time that’s really not all the important to you? Cut it out. Take control and use that time for writing. I recently heard of a very busy man who spent a year writing his book–15 minutes a day. That’s literally all the time he had. But he finished it, and it got published.

    1. I’ve been slowly doing that. I don’t play games on Facebook like I used to but I’m still on there a bunch because now I have writer’s blogs linked to it. I’ve decided to wait until August to do Camp NaNo. Another writer I know is going to wait until August and we’re going to “share” a cabin. šŸ™‚ I’ve been getting up earlier to do my morning pages and it’s the best time to get some house cleaning done before I go to work. The time I spent playing games is now spent reading blog posts by other writers and attending writing workshops so at least I’ve replaced the games with something related to the craft. I swear I feel busier now than when I was doing any of my classes.

Pen your thoughts...

